Clubs and Activities

Clubs and Activities promote student involvement and are suited to fit the needs of our current study body.  Due to this flexibility, clubs can change from year to year.

For the 2017-2018 school year, the following clubs are being offered:


BAND

Band Director: Mr. KC Perlberg - kcperlberg@stritahs.com
The Mustang Band consists of marching, symphonic, and jazz bands is called the PRIDE of St. Rita. They perform at games, parades, concerts, competitions, and many other school and community events.


CHESS TEAM

Moderator: Mr. Thomas Conlon - tconlon@stritahs.com
The Chess Team is open to everyone interested in playing or learning to place chess after school.  Students who want to play competitively are encouraged to join the Chess Team, which competes against other schools in the Catholic League Conference.  The Chess Team’s season goes from October to February, but St. Rita students practice and compete against each other year round.


COOKING CLUB

Moderator: Mrs. Mary Barnes - mbarnes@stritahs.com
The Cooking Club is open to all students interested in cooking.  Students get to choose the recipes they want to prepare for each cooking session.  The club gives students the opportunity to learn the basic skill of cooking, such as: measurements, ingredients, cooking time and following the necessary steps to make sure each dish is a tasty success.  Best of all, after clean up, students get to enjoy their creations.

 


FRENCH CLUB

Moderator: Ms. Beth Brewick - bbrewick@stritahs.com
The French Club explores different aspects of French and francophone culture through various activities such as field trips to French plays and restaurants.

 


NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY

Moderator: Ms. Socorro Yáñez - syanez@stritahs.com
The National Honor Society is a prestigious society established to recognize outstanding high school students.  NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.  Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.


NATIR SATIRICAL NEWSPAPER

Moderator: Mr. Tim Baffoe - tbaffoe@stritahs.com
The NATIR is a satirical newspaper produced by students that pokes fun at the St. Rita community and the world at large. It is no longer affiliated with The Illuminati or Arby’s.


S.A.D.D

Moderator: Ms. Maggie Hawrysz - mhawrysz@stritahs.com
The St. Rita chapter of Students Against Destructive Decisions works to help people avoid the dangers underage drinking, drug use, risky and impaired driving and other destructive decisions.


SCHOLASTIC BOWL TEAM

Moderator: Mr. Buddy Dolan - wdolan@stritahs.com                                                 Moderator: Mr. Andy McIntosh - amacintosh@stritahs.com
The Scholastic Bowl Team members compete against other area school in the I.H.S.A.’s Scholastic Bowl League.  Scholastic Bowl is a game of knowledge and speed, answering questions about literature, history, science and sports.


SEINFELD CLUB

Moderator: Mr. Jerry Pazin ’90 - jpazin@stritahs.com
Die hard fans of the iconic television show “Seinfeld” converge to view and discuss classic episodes. We’re a club about “nothing.”


SOCCER CLUB

Moderator: Mr. Andrew DiMarco - adimarco@stritahs.com
The "GOAL" of the Soccer Club is to spread love and appreciation for the beautiful game.  The club meets to watch soccer games, highlights and videos, as well as talk about the game and hold debates over which players and teams are the best.  The club also hosts FIFA video game tournaments, gathers for pick up games and simple kick-around.  On occasion the club will have outings to Chicago Fire and other professional games.  All students are welcome, students do not need to be a member of the soccer team to participate.


SPANISH CLUB

Moderator: Mrs. Colleen Earley - cearley@stritahs.com
Moderator: Ms. Socorro Yáñez - syanez@stritahs.com

The Spanish Club is open to all students interested in learning more about cultures from Spanish speaking countries around the world.   Each semester, members host gatherings after school to celebrate different holidays such as Dia de Los Muertos, Dia de la Virgen de Guadalupe, Cinco de Mayo and end of the year celebration.


SPORTS FANTASY LEAGUE

Moderator: Mr. Andrew DiMarco - adimarco@stritahs.com                                                       Moderator: Mr. Ed Leiser '04 - eleiser@stritahs.com
Moderator: Mr. Brian Hagen '04 - bhagen@stritahs.com

Whether it be football, hockey, basketball or baseball the Sports Fantasy League has a season for all.  Members compete against one other in multiple fantasy leagues throughout the year and can be a part of all fantasy leagues or just the season of their liking.


STEM CLUB

Moderator: Mr. Matt Petrich - mpetrich@stritahs.com                                                   Moderator: Ms. Missy Smialek - msmialek@stritahs.com                                                       The STEM club incorporates Science, Technology, Engineering and Math into fun, creative experiments during regular meetings throughout the academic year. A highlight of the club's activities is participation in the national Team America Rocketry Competition with hundreds of other schools.  All are welcome and invited to join--no experience necessary! 


STOCK CLUB

Moderator: Mr. Tim O'Connor '03 - toconnor@stritahs.com
The Stock Club engages students in the process of learning basic investing concepts.  These concepts will help them in life to save money, invest money and maximize returns on their investments.  In addition to an investment competition against other schools, the Stock Club welcomes guest speakers from the business world who offer their real-life stories of financial gain.


STUDENT GOVERNMENT

Moderator: Mr. Josh Blaszak '02 - jblaszak@stritahs.com
Student Government consists of representatives from the Freshman, Sophomore, Junior and Senior classes led overall by three Senior Chief Executive Officers.  The Student Government meets every other week and is chaired by a Class Moderator and the Director of Student Life & Ministry.  The Government’s duties are to work together to coordinate the Augustinian core values of Veritas, Unitas and Caritas through all school-wide events promoting the Augustinian charism of building community through all we do here at St. Rita.   Members of Student Government are also the lead voices of the student body and meet regularly with the school administration.


THEATRE CLUB

Moderator: Ms. Beth Brewick - bbrewick@stritahs.com                                 
The Theater Club hopes to inspire and to provide students with opportunities to express themselves via the performing arts for years to come.  The Theatre Club produces a one act show in the Fall and major show in the Spring.  In order to design and build sets for productions students are also invited to join the Theatre Club as part of the Crew.


YEARBOOK ~ “THE CASCIAN”

Moderator: Mrs. Laura Fleck - lfleck@stritahs.com
Moderator: Mr. Mike Johnson - mjohnson@stritahs.com

A dedicated staff works hard to create an amazing record of each year.  Taking pictures and writing is only half of the work.  The staff needs to pick out pictures, decide on layouts, meet with coaches for write info on the season, add pictures to the pages and much more.  The yearbook is a great way to collect memories and turn it into a publication while having fun and working with classmates.