St. Rita Basketball Program Holds Awards Banquet

By: John Nee '93

On Sunday afternoon, May 7, 2017, at Beverly Country Club, the entire St. Rita Basketball Program came together to celebrate their success this season at their annual awards banquet. The keynote speaker was former Duke University guard and current Head Basketball Coach at Marquette University Steve “Wojo” Wojciechowski.        

Coach “Wojo” emphasized to the St. Rita basketball players in attendance to use basketball as a vehicle to college. He was a McDonald’s All-American high school player who earned a scholarship to play for Coach Mike Krzyzewski at Duke. “Wojo” then joined the Duke staff where he spent 15 years as an assistant before taking over the Marquette program 3 seasons ago.

Former St. Rita Head Basketball Coach John Bonk ’75 was also in attendance to help induct two of his former players, Rashay Russell ’03 and Michael Rembert ’03, into the St. Rita Basketball Hall of Fame. Coach Bonk spoke of the high character of both inductees and the impact that each of them had on him and the entire St. Rita Basketball Program as they led the 2003 team to St. Rita’s first Catholic League Basketball Championship since 1970.

Freshman Dalen Horace, sophomore Myles Montague, and senior Paul Kingsley each spoke on their teams’ seasons thanking their teammates and coaches for a great experience.  Head Coach Gary DeCesare then announced the award winners for this season. 

The following members of the basketball program were recognized for special awards:

Fr. McNicholas Basketball Award

Senior Team Managers Justin Perdue and Bobby Gikas

Mike Zunica Sportsmanship Award

Freshmen Joe Vidmar and Zenin Hall, Sophomore Frankie Zoller, Junior Ray Falk

Coach Ed Galvin Basketball Achievement Award

Senior Rashaad Williams

St. Rita Mustang Award

 Pat Connolly, Chuck Caffrey

Coach Barney Badke Basketball Award

 Senior Te’Mon Green

Coach Jim Prunty Most Improved Player Award

Senior Phillip McGuire

Coach John Bonk Dedication Award

Senior Manager Gary DeCesare

Tom Hopkins Leadership Award

Senior Manager TJ DeCesare

Fr. Tom McCarthy Academic Award

Senior Paul Kingsley