St. Rita Announces Straight-A, Heeney Award Winners

Successful people welcome challenges. Throughout their four years in high school, Ritamen are taught that well-rounded individuals are most-likely to succeed in life.  Additionally, Ritamen know a main factor in success is academic achievement; thus they are challenged academically at St. Rita High School, to prepare them for continued success in college. This past semester 38 Ritamen responded to academic challenges with exemplary results.  

St. Rita High School straight-A, Heeney Award winners for the 2016-17 first semester

On January 18, 2017, an overcast Wednesday morning, there were bright smiles in St. Rita Shrine Chapel as St. Rita students, faculty and staff all gathered for an all-school assembly on St. Rita High School's campus at 77th & Western Avenue.

After the opening prayer, the assembly led off with an impressive student-led presentation on the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. Following the presentation, the Mustangs of the Month were announced. Shortly after that, Head of School Fr. Paul Galetto, O.S.A. and Principal Mr. Brendan Conroy recognized 38 Heeney Award winners for the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

St. Rita's Prestigious Heeney Award is named after Michael Heeney '71. The Heeney Award Winners will be recognized in front of the entire St. Rita Family again after a Family Mass at the St. Rita Shrine Chapel on Sunday, January 22 at 9:00 a.m. All are welcome at Sunday's Family Mass at St. Rita

Congratulations to the Heeney Award winners for the first semester of 2016-17

First Name Last Name School
Zackary Aleman St Catherine of Alexandria - Oak Lawn
Eric Andersen St Christina
Michael Benson St Cajetan
Jackson Briseno Century Jr. High
Payton Condon St Catherine of Alexandria - Oak Lawn
Liam Connolly St Barnabas
James Conroy St Barnabas
Patrick Cranley Christ the King
Justin Darwin St Christina
Gary DeCesare St John of the Cross - Western Springs
Quinn Eaheart Keller
Connor Earley Christ the King
Ryan Fidler St Barnabas
Colan Fitzgerald St John of the Cross - Western Springs
Terrance Glynn St John Fisher
Salvador Guel St Benedict - Blue Island
Kyle Gustafson Lakeview Jr. High
Osvaldo Gutierrez Queen of the Universe
Michael Henze Everest Academy
Bryce Jackson O.West Huth Middle School
Jacob Kuska Oak Lawn Hometown MS
James Larkin Queen of Martyrs
William March St John Fisher
Andrew Mariotti Incarnation
Adam McCarthy St John Fisher
Connor McGrath Morgan Park Academy
Myles Montaque Summit Hill Junior High
Kevin O'Hara St Christina
Andrew Prado St Joseph - Summit
Joseph Qualter Most Holy Redeemer
Jason Reis Highland M.S. Indiana
Orlando Rojas St Benedict - Blue Island
Trevor Scianna St Hubert
Timothy Smith St Catherine
Sean Smith St Christina
Kyle Somrek St Barnabas
Luis Treto St Gall
Karl Wilson Sutherland