St. Rita Stock Club Wins Second Place In Competition

St. Rita Senior Teddy McDermott

St. Rita Stock Club team, led by Teddy McDermott '16, won second place in the 2015 fall Stock Market Game competition among Chicago-area high schools. Teddy and the entire team will be recognized at an award ceremony at the Chicago Board of Options Exchange (CBOE) on Thursday night, January 14, 2016.

Teddy is also the teacher’s aid for the first year of St. Rita alumnus Nick LoMaglio’s '04 "ABC's of a Ritaman" program. Teddy recently developed a website for the ABC program. He taught himself website design and created the first cut of our homepage. The ABC program teaches a group of about 20 St. Rita students basic business skills related to ethics, how to dress for success, communication, dangers of social media, investing, resume writing, and networking.  

Nick LoMaglio '04 teaches "ABC's of a Ritaman" before the school day begins.

On February 12, the ABC students will be taking a field trip to acquire some practical experience. There will be two stops:

1)      UBS Financial Services – Topic: Financial Literacy – Voted as the top topic of interest at the beginning of the year. Part I of day will be an onsite visit to UBS Tower in the financial district downtown. This stop will include breakfast and a one-hour session focused exclusively on making, saving, and investing money. 

2)      JB Industries – Topic: Running a small business – Immediately following UBS, the stock club will head to JB Industries in Aurora, IL. There we will be meeting with Paul Dachota, a 1984 St. Rita graduate, who currently operates as the CFO of a privately-held HVAC Manufacturing business. We will hear about what it takes to run a small business, speak with Dave Madden, the head engineer, and get a tour of the plant and surrounding grounds. Lunch will be provided.

St. Rita is pleased to recognize Teddy and the rest of the Stock Club and ABC Program students as great examples of Ritamen!  

Other members for the Stock Club include: 

Mike Rutter '17

John Zefran '19

Josh Jackson '17

Teddy McDermott '16

Austin Cabello '17

Brian Gralak '19

Matt Mier '19

Charlie McDermott '19

Tommy Troesch '19

Kyle Somrek '19

Pete Conroy '19

Oscar Martinez '17