St. Rita Inducts 73 Seniors into National Honor Society

St. Rita of Cascia High School has formally inducted seventy-three seniors into its chapter of the National Honor Society.  The induction ceremony took place at St. Rita’s monthly all-school Mass held on November 1st.  Each member from the Class of 2012 was presented with a National Honor Society medal by St. Rita President Fr. Tom McCarthy, O.S.A. ’83 and Principal Mr. Brendan Conroy.  All of these students have met high academic standards as well as service requirements in order to qualify for this prestigious honor, and were chosen based on their embodiment of the four key elements of the National Honor Society: scholarship, character, leadership, and service.

The NHS Officers for the Class of 2012 are: President Michael Murphy (Central Junior High), Vice President Michael Tolley (St. Cajetan), Treasurer Ricardo Valedez (St. Bede the Venerable) and Secretary Craig Sabath (Bridgeport Catholic Academy).  St. Rita’s chapter of the National Honor Society is moderated by Assistant Principal Mr. Wes Benak ’81.

The seniors inducted into the St. Rita’s chapter of the National Honor Society are as follows (alphabetically): Cody Akel (Central Jr. High), Albert Alfano (Morgan Park Academy), James Allen (St. John Fisher), Thomas Joseph Andrews (St. John Fisher), Michael Anjorin (St. Paul - Valparaiso), Stephano Belmonte (Wilbur Wright), Luke Bioke (St. Christina), Christopher Ciciora (St. Christina), David Ciciora (St. Christina), Nicholas Dachota (St. John Fisher), Joseph Dorken (St. John Fisher), Bradley Dorng (St. John Fisher), Brendan Duffy (St. Alexander), James Dunn (Mt. Greenwood Elementary), Charles Elmore (George Washington), Daniel Fitzgerald (St. Christina), Michael Foody (St. Mary Star of the Sea), Lee Garcia (Burroughs), Anthony Gleason (St. Gerald), Jacob Golding (Palos south), Jaime Gomez (St. Turibius), Devereux Hall (St. Walter), William Henry (Jerling Jr. High), Connor Hughes (St. Albert the Great), Joseph Huguelet (Most Holy Redeemer), John Johnson (St. Cajetan), Thomas Kacor (St. Bede the Venerable), Martin Kelly (St. Christina), Thomas Kinney (St. Gerald), John Konrath (St. John Fisher), Aleksander Kropidlowski (St. Barnabas), Max Kurucar (Oak Lawn Hometown Middle School), Ernesto Lopez (Queen of the Universe), Matthew Marciano (St. Walter), Joseph McDonnell (St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick), William McNamara (St. Catherine of Alexandria), Walter Moran (George Washington), John Murphy (St. Rene Goupil), Mark Murphy (St. Albert the Great), Michael Murphy (Central Jr. High), David Myers (St. Elizabeth), Kal Nastek (Keller Regional), John Nowobilski (St. Albert the Great), Daniel O’Dea (St. Gabriel), Matthew O’Donnell (Most Holy Redeemer), William Pink (St. Cajetan), Michael Prado (St. Mary Star of the Sea), Robert Raehl (St. Symphorosa), Elijah Ramos (St. Gall), Thomas Reardon (St. John Fisher), Kevin Regnier (St. John Fisher), John Reynolds (St. Cajetan), Joseph Ruiz (St. Walter), Craig Sabath (Bridgeport Catholic Academy), Trace Shoup (St. Daniel the Prophet), Eric Smith (St. Cajetan), Stan Sojka (Kinzie), Zachary Soria (Homer Jr. High), Neil Spore (Christ the King), Thomas Stark (St. John Fisher), Francis Sujack (Christ the King), Scott Thomas (Bridgeport Catholic Academy), Michael Tolley (St. Cajetan), Jesus Torres (St. Albert the Great), Ricardo Valadez (St. Bede the Venerable), Peter Vanek (St. Gerald), Theodore James Verdun (Homer Jr. High), Zachary Wagner (St. Christina), Joel Waickus (St. Mary Star of the Sea), Christopher Ward (Simmons), Conor Wilson (St. Patricia), Kevin Zawaski (St. Germaine), Michael Zunica (St. Alexander).